Sayre News

Continuing the Tradition of Excellence at Virtual KYA! 2020!
Posted 11/06/2020 02:59PM

Sayre students played an integral role leading the 2020 Kentucky Youth Assembly, November 5-6. Elected as student governor of the Commonwealth last year, Parker Stewart (’21) led the virtual conference while Eleanor Ickes (’21) presided as a Supreme Court justice and Anna Palumbo (’23) served as Chief-of-Staff for the Lieutenant Governor.

Despite the pandemic-related shift toward a virtual conference, Sayre continued its tradition of excellence as a “Premier Delegation” and received the following individual awards and recognition, including three presiding officers for next year’s conference!

  • Elected Presiding Officer for 2021 - Speaker of the Commonwealth House:  James Gunasar (’22)
  • Elected Presiding Officer for 2021 – Speaker of the Bluegrass House: Arushi Bansal (’24)
  • Elected Presiding Officer for 2021 – Attorney General: Lindsay Whitaker (’22)
  • Outstanding Lobbyist: Melissa Shane (’21)
  • Chosen Outstanding Attorney and Winner of Supreme Court Showcase: Dakota Musgrave (’23)
  • Outstanding Delegate: Coby Cummins (’21)
  • Commonwealth Bill passed both House and Senate chambers in the Capitol and signed into law:
    • An Act Relating to the Removal of Tinted License Plate Shields – by Coby Cummins, Nathalie deSousa (’21), Carmen Applegate, and Lilah Bloomfield (’22)

Sayre’s 28-member delegation represented the school in the full range of KYA program areas, including:

  • Leadership: Teresa Murphy and Nate Scudder (’21) both chaired dockets in legislative chambers
  • Legislative – Bluegrass Bill team debated in Committee and Senate Chambers
    • An Act to reallocate 20% of the specified Kentucky Lottery profits to providing students with technological assistance for online learning by Gigi Cornett, Eliza Mullins (’23), Aleena Ahmad, and Toko Ashida (’24)
    • Serving as delegates who debated and voted on proposed bills: Prerna Maggan (’21), Sadie Barlow (’22), Celia Huntress (’23), Mary Jann (’23), Olivia Kobak (’23),  Dylan Clarke (’24), Anthony Hana (’24), and Ella Rhea Miller (’24)
  • Judicial – Levy Deckard (’21), Lindsay Whitaker (’22), and Dakota Musgrave (’23) presented legal arguments before a student led Supreme Court
  • Lobbyist – Melissa Shane (’21) represented a state client, advising and advocating for legislation
  • Media Corps – Brianna Slone (’21) worked with a team covering conference happenings through a variety of media platforms.

Congratulations to Sayre’s delegation and thanks to its advisors, Delia Pergande and Linda Beck.

US Virtual KYA US Virtual KYA US Virtual KYA
US Virtual KYA US Virtual KYA US Virtual KYA


powered by finalsite