Sayre News

Sayre Honors Retiring Trustees & Board Award Recipients
Posted 08/30/2019 01:42PM

The Sayre School Board of Trustees held a reception to honor the 2019 Board Award Recipients and recognize retiring trustees. 

The Dorothy Moomaw Miles Award was given to Mrs. Tracy Clinkinbeard and Dr. Anne Pittman.  The Miles Service Award is named in honor of Dorothy Moomaw Miles, Headmistress of Sayre from 1952-1961. Awards are given to both a current and a past patron who have been actively involved in the daily life of the school providing parent and/or student participation and expression opportunities.

The McClellan Award was given to Mrs. Jacquelin '88 and Mr. Joe '87 Murphy.  The McClellan Award is named in honor of Major Brainerd McClellan, Sayre's most distinguished and longest tenured Headmaster who served from 1870-1904.  The recipient of this award is to be a friend or organization of the school that has made significant contributions in the form of service to the student body. 

The Trustee Award was given to Mr. Peek Garlington.  As a Trustee Award recipient, one has to be a current or past trustee of the school who has been singled out by his fellow trustees as a leader in providing guidance and direction to the school through his or her efforts. 

Retiring trustees are Mr. Justin Yandell and Mr. James Miller (member of the class of '85).  Justin is a current parent and has served on the Board for eight years.  While on the Sayre School Board, James served several years for separate terms.  We thank you for your service and dedication to Sayre School!


Board Reception
Mrs. Jacquelin Murphy '88 with her parents Reverend Jack and Mrs. Joan Whitaker

Board ReceptionDr. Anne Pittman and Mrs. Tracy Clinkinbeard

Board ReceptionMr. Justin and Mrs. Molly Yandell


powered by finalsite