Sayre News

Sayre Senior Named Honorable Mention in Jazz Guitar
Posted 01/11/2019 01:18PM

Will Peters-Seymour '19Good news from Miami, Florida! Sayre School senior Will Peters-Seymour has been named a 2019 National YoungArts Foundation (YoungArts) Honorable Mention winner in Jazz Guitar (Music). Selected from thousands of applications, Will has been recognized for his outstanding artistic achievements and joins 710 of the nation’s most promising young artists from 44 states across visual, literary, design, and performing arts.

“On behalf of YoungArts, I want to congratulate all of the 2019 winners for their achievements at such an early stage in their careers,” said Sarah Arison, YoungArts Board Chair. “We believe that every artist should be empowered to pursue a life in the arts, and we are excited to welcome our winners to the YoungArts family. This is just the beginning and we look forward to helping provide them with the valuable opportunities and support they will need to thrive throughout their artistic journeys.”

Will will participate in YoungArts New York on April 23–28, 2019, and will join a professional network of distinguished artists. “I have my sister Claire to thank for telling me about the award,” said Will. “I had not heard about the YoungArts program until she told me about it. I also have to thank all my music teachers including Mrs. Amy Berryman and Mr. Tim Fowler. It is a huge honor to have been selected for this award, and I am really excited for whatever opportunities it brings me!”

Throughout the year, Will will be offered opportunities to share his work with the public at renowned institutions such as the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts (Washington, D.C.), The Metropolitan Museum of Art (New York), Baryshnikov Arts Center (New York) and New World Center (Miami); and access to mentors including Tony Award winner Joan Lader; Grammy Award-winning percussionist Joseph Gramley; Academy Award-winning film editor Doug Blush; Obie Award-winning theater artists Steven Sapp and Mildred Ruiz; award-winning journalist, author and provocative cultural critic Joan Morgan; poet John Murillo; opera singers Daniela Mack and Alek Shrader; US Artist Fellow and Princess Grace award-winning choreographer Rosie Herrera; bestselling author Kristen Simmons; and award-winning photographer Lori Hepner, among many others.

For more information or to view a complete list of the 2019 winners, visit
powered by finalsite