Sayre News

Board of Trustees Reception
Posted 08/23/2017 04:00PM

Last night, Head of School Stephen Manella and the Sayre Board of Trustees welcomed new members - Emily Cowles, Jennie Garlington, Kelly Healy, and Langdon Shoop '93.  He thanked those retiring from the board - Dania Fakhoury, Peek Garlington, Ben Haggin '84, and Rudy Schmidt.

Each year, the board acknowledges valuable members of the community for their service to the school.

The Miles Service Award went to Michael Dawahare '79 and Kit Rutherford. The award is in honor of Dorothy Moomaw Miles, Headmistress from 1952-1961 and is given to both a current and past parent who have been actively involved in the daily life of the school.

Michael's commitment to Sayre as a past parent, Board member, Upper School Investment Club sponsor, and Don Jacobs, Sr. Seminar sponsor has been incredible.  We are thankful for the number of individuals he's mentored in the community.

Kit's service and sacrifice as Spectacular Chair for two straight years has provided Sayre with an extraordinary return!

Current parent Teresa Villaran was the recipient of The McClellan Award.  The award is in honor of Henry McClellan, Sayre's most distinguished and longest-tenured Headmaster who served from 1870-1904. Teresa's leadership of the Sayre Parents Association provided over $15,000 of support to the school.

The Trustee Award is presented to a Trustee of the school who has been singled out by his fellow Trustees as a leader in providing insightful guidance and direction to the school. This year's designee is Ben Haggin '84. Ben has served eight terms on the board, four as Chair.

powered by finalsite