Academic Services

Sayre’s Department of Academic Services provides a variety of direct and indirect supports to maximize student achievement. Currently, our program offers student support in the following areas: Academic Learning Specialist Support, Reading Intervention, ADHD/Organizational Coaching and Speech Therapy. We are able to support students Pre-Kindergarten through Grade 12, with a continuum of services across divisions. We are also able to support families in finding qualified outside academic tutoring, and offer referral services for occupational therapy and psychoeducational evaluations. We also partner with a variety of outside local organizations to provide space on campus and flexibility with student schedules to allow for additional services to be provided during student school days.

Students with diagnosed learning differences as well as those who just need additional academic support are eligible to enroll in our services. An Individualized Learning Plan (ILP) may be created for a student with a diagnosed learning difference to accommodate specific needs. Specialists work to remediate skills and communicate regularly with teachers and parents to ensure accommodations are successful. Strengthening students’ executive functions and organizational skills is a focus of our qualified staff’s approach to academic support. Students benefit from specialist’s close contact with Sayre’s faculty and their intimate knowledge of our curriculum. Students are scheduled for Academic Services as space permits; students who have received services previously and demonstrate the greatest need are given first consideration.

Meet Our Staff

Jennifer Weis
Director of Academic Services

Rebecca Ashby
Learning Specialist, 5th grade

Beth Bates
Learning Specialist, US

Kim Blackey
Learning Specialist, 9th grade

Bennett Civils
Reading Intervention/Literacy Specialist, MS/US

Cynthia Lee
Reading Intervention, LS

Amy Mitchell
Math Learning Specialist, MS/US

Maggie Richardson
Learning Specialist, MS

Amy Scarboro
Learning Specialist, LS

Sayre School Tutoring Roster 2018-19

Families should contact tutors directly to arrange for services for their child. The tutor will assist with arranging locations for services, if a location on Sayre campus is preferred. Fees and payment should be arranged directly with tutors. Sayre has ensured appropriate credentials and background check for all tutors listed on our roster. Sayre faculty/staff may not tutor during the school day.

 

ACT/SAT Test Prep

 

Cathy Bilberry

859-327-8564 cbilberry@sayreschool.org

Erica Snow

859-455-6138

ericansnow@gmail.com

Debbie Wheeler

859-396-8128 dwheeler@sayreschool.org

Mohamad Samadi

859-797-3694

samadi@windstream.net

Carolyn Oldham

carolynoldham@gmail.com

 

 

English/Writing

 

Bennett Civils

859-447-2743

bcivils@sayreschool.org

Cathy Bilberry

859-327-8564 cbilberry@sayreschool.org

Courtland Leer

859-221-4580

cleer@sayreschool.org

 

Carolyn Oldham

carolynoldham@gmail.com

 

 

French

 

Ola Samadi

859-494-3409 osamadi@sayreschool.org

MS and US

Linda Chambers

859-351-0574

Lchambers@sayreschool.org

Level 1-AP 

 

 

Math

 

Amy Mitchell

amitchell@sayreschool.org

MS and US math

Ola Samadi

859-494-3409

osamadi@sayreschool.org

K-8th grade

Mohamad Samadi

859-797-3694

samadi@windstream.net

MS, alg I&II, geo, pre-cal and Honors

Erica Snow

859-455-6138

ericansnow@gmail.com

US, advanced level math

Melissa Barlow

615-483-4743

mbarlow@sayreschool.org

alg 1 & II, pre-alg, math 4-6

 

 

Science

 

Chris Zachau

czachau@sayreschool.org

Debbie Wheeler

859-396-8128 dwheeler@sayreschool.org

 

 

Social Studies/History

 

Courtland Leer

859-221-4580

cleer@sayreschool.org

 

 

 

Spanish

 

Nance Everts

859- 277- 6001

neverts@sayreschool.org

Chrissy Mesquita

859-533-8131

cmesquita@sayreschool.org

 

 

Lower School Curriculum

 

Amy Scarboro

859-361-3389

ascarboro@sayreschool.org

Dakota Yates

606-269-3319

dyates@sayreschool.org

Eve Greathouse greathouse@sayreschool.org

 

 

Reading Intervention

 

Cynthia Lee

859-619-4667

clee@sayreschool.org

Bennett Civils

859-447-2743

bcivils@sayreschool.org

 

 

ESL

 

Carolyn Oldham

carolynoldham@gmail.com

 

 

 

ADHD Coaching

 

Kathryn Graves

859-420-1940

Adhdadvantageky@gmail.com

Amy Mitchell

859-421-0377

 

 

Academic Study Hall

 

Designed for MS/US students. Staffed by a Middle School faculty member familiar with assignments. Work is closely monitored, and the goal is homework completion before a student goes home. This program is designed for working parents, students who need structure, and anyone who wants to go home with no further work. The fee is $20 per day.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



powered by finalsite